Contender G2 vs Encore

Bluejay

Beginner
Apr 6, 2006
Hi Gents,
I am seriously thinking of getting a Thompson Center handgun in .223 Rem caliber in a 14"/15" barrel (G2/Encore).

Since I am new to this field, I'd like to hear your voices on which of the two you would choose for this setup and why.

Also, do they use the same frame for handgun and rifle configurations, so that I'd need to change buttstock/forend/barrel to make them into rifles ?

What kind of scope mount would you suggest ?

Apologies for the many questions and thanks in advance for your time.

Cheers
Bluejay :wink:

Next to the .22 LR the .223 Remington is one of my favorite Cartridges for the T/C Contender. Yes I much prefer the Contender over the Encore. I have hunted with both and while the Encore can be chambered for much higher pressure cartridges I still prefer the size, weight, feel and balance of the Contender.

My current Stainless-Steel 14" .223 Remington Contender is the most accurate barrel I have ever had (Factory or Custom). With 55gr. Nosler Ballistic Tips loaded with H-4895 Powder if I shoot a group at 100 yards from the bench over 1/2" I MESSED UP. Of course the 3x12x Burris LER Handgun Scope helps some too.

Yes the frames are identical from Rifle to Handgun, but the Encore and G2 Contender are totally different size frames and the barrels do not interchange. IF you buy your frame as a Handgun you can indeed convert it to a Rifle. However if you buy your frame as a Rifle it must stay a Rifle in the eyes of the ATF. I know it sounds silly, but that's the way it is.

I use Weaver Scope Bases on my Contenders with Weaver Quad Lock 4x4 Scope Rings and have not had a problem.