Glen Zediker "Top-Grade Ammo"

joelkdouglas

Handloader
Jun 5, 2011
Gents,

Ultimate question: Do you like Custom Competitions or RDFs?

I've read about half of Glen Zediker's Top-Grade Ammo now. I've been reloading for several years, read several books/reloading manuals/etc. on the topic. If I could suggest a couple very useful it would be the Berger manual and the Nosler manual. Of course always more to learn and Zediker has some interesting points.

Zediker has helped me identify a couple ways I lack discipline.

First, make detailed notes! I have been moving regularly and stuff gets packed up/lost/who knows what. I need to make/keep detailed notes.

Second, any time I change powders or bullets types I need to re-clean my barrel before shooting again. I hate cleaning my barrels (and coat them with Dyna Bore Coat so I don't have to very often!). But I was switching powders/bullets/etc without cleaning. His claim is changing powder or jacket type (i.e. different bullet makers) adjusts the impact point until the barrel adjusts. I have a 30-06 that shoots absolutely lights out with 155 Custom Competitions and 165 Accubonds, and rarely has another type of bullet, so could be a great point.

Not sure how much difference it would make, but here's my question:

To standardize to one bullet maker, Nosler (for me) is a good choice. I use Partitions and Accubonds commonly for hunting, and their match bullets are just as good as any others.

If I intended to standardize this rifle for Noslers, would you use Custom Competitions or RDFs for the majority of the shooting? I know Shooters Pro Shop has inexpensive Accubonds and Partitions too.

Thanks gents!
v/r
Joel

believe half of what you read and half of what you hear.

As far as what bullet to use..... use whatever shoot well in your rifle

You already know my reply, I quit using match bullets on Coyotes because they ran off and I could not find them. I have not had that problem with SP bullets. :wink: :wink: