How many left-hand shooters/hunters do we have here?

xphunter

Handloader
Sep 15, 2005
I am left eye dominate, and typically shoot left-handed, but I am also very comfortable shooting right-handed with rifles, and any handgun type as well.
I have never tried shooting RH with a shotgun.

Left eye dominate. Pretty much ambidextrous, bat about the same left or right. Got kicked in the face by a horse when I was a kid, never could learn to close my left eye after that. Learned to shoot rifle and shotgun left handed. Carried my pistol on my right hip for 20 years on the job. Shot about the same with either hand, the longer a call went that required my pistol in my hand, the more likely it would end up in my left hand.

I'm left eye dominate, but right handed. It's made things a little weird for me. I started shooting left handed in my yard with a BB gun with open sights and have now grown more used to shooting left handed, but if I were to shoot a scoped bolt action again, I would probably shoot right handed, probably. I try to practice both so I can use whatever side suits the situation, but because I like shooting with both eyes open with iron sights I've been doing a lot more left handed.

I'm left handed, but right eye dominant and shoot right handed. My son is the exact opposite...right handed but left eye dominant and he shoots lefty.

After many years teaching people to shoot, I won't even bother teaching someone to shoot to their "handedness" if it conflicts. with their eye dominance.

Not a lefty, but it reminds me of dad teaching us to shoot/ hunt squirrel with a .410 he would have us shoot a pop cans he’d setup behind us while we sat leaning against a tree trunk. We had to be familiar with switching to a left hand to shoot behind and to the right of the tree with a shotgun. Pretty easy habit to develop.