Lee FCD in 45-70

bdbrown66

Handloader
May 16, 2016
I've been loading and shooting 45-70 in my Henry levers for a few years now, but I've always just used the RCBS seater die to crimp. For those who have used the Lee FCD in this caliber, what are your thoughts? I know it will lessen the need to be as exacting on trim length, but is there an accuracy improvement? I'm always open to something better.

Cheers,
Brian

Not a lot of cartridges that I crimp. The ones that I do, I only use a LFC die. Simple, idiot proof for guys like me, and consistent. I usually go with a medium crimp and just confirm it's holding bullets at the loaded length in the magazine under recoil. Very easy to go with a heavier crimp if necessary.

I have several and they get used regularly. Maybe just in my mind, but I feel like it ads to the consistency of the rounds. I’ve never seen a load get worse by using them. Simple and almost idiot-proof. Plus the bullet doesn’t need a cannelure to crimp. It may be tad much, but once I get the crimp I want, I’ll measure with a caliper from the top of the die to the press and record that for future batches.

Attachments

• FF004ED1-D2EC-4978-B8A6-D1C875C8703A.jpeg
    FF004ED1-D2EC-4978-B8A6-D1C875C8703A.jpeg
    511.5 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:
I use the roll crimp in the seater die and/or the Lee FCD. I honestly can't see any difference on paper. BTW the FCD won't work if you shorten your brass to use the Monoflex or FTX bullets.

The FCD is a good option if you are letting your cases grow but I haven't noticed that they grow very much. Low pressure and having a straight wall case probably helps stabilize case length in the 45-70.