Leupold vx3hd 4.5x14?

FOTIS

Range Officer
Staff member
Oct 30, 2004
Has anyone used one of these and had it go to crap??? Working on a friend's Bergara b14 HMR in 300 Winchester and can not get the thing to group. So far I have tried RL 22 and 180 ballistic tips and Sierra game Kings nothing will come together..... I will be trying different bullets and powders of course.

I love mine (1 inch tube). I haven't had any issues with it so far. That isn't to say there aren't bad apples in the bunch.
I've owned a few VX-3HDs and all of them were great scopes. Had to sell a couple when my family hit a rough time, though.

Fotis if you have a spare scope laying around that you know is good to go give it a try on the rifle and see what happens.
I have no experience with the VX3 in that power range but do own one in 3-10 with wind plex reticle that works great.
When I want to test a rifle for accuracy, I use my Zeiss conquest 4-14 which is my most trusted scope. Wish I had bought more when they were on clearance sale at camera land.

Fotis if you have a spare scope laying around that you know is good to go give it a try on the rifle and see what happens.
I have no experience with the VX3 in that power range but do own one in 3-10 with wind plex reticle that works great.
When I want to test a rifle for accuracy, I use my Zeiss conquest 4-14 which is my most trusted scope. Wish I had bought more when they were on clearance sale at camera land.
THIS!

I have one, but have not used it yet.
On a different note, I love my VX5 HD's

Leupold has let me down too often in the last few years. It just hasn’t kept up with its competitors.

Before wasting any more components I would tear that rifle down. Check action screws and scope base screws to be sure they are not bottoming out, check the magazine box for binding, torque everything to spec and try a known scope.

Leupold has let me down too often in the last few years. It just hasn’t kept up with its competitors.