New Reloader

Elkman

Handloader
Apr 4, 2010
This fall for my birthday my wife bought me a Lyman Turret Press. I have been reloading for approximately 55 years, using a Herters C- type press, which I will keep, but I really wanted something faster for pistol ammo. I have always used a plastic spoon to meter powder and measured every load,with a scale, and loaded them all singly. With three hunting seasons and two major holiday's since my birthday, I have not had the time to try out my new toy. So today while resting between sets on the Bow-flex I set up the press on the end of my bench. I read the manual while on the treadmill, and was all set up and ready to go. I did not have any pistol cases to load but did have some .308's for load development. The first thing I installed was the powder measure. I have had this a long time, and had used it a few times, but it did not meter, H-4831 well, so I had put it back into the original box for later use. After the measure came the de-capping die, which would not fit in the hole because I had installed the measure to close to the turret. So I changed this and was able to screw in the bullet seating die as well. I then set the dies according to the instructions. As I was checking how easily and accurately the turret moved from one station to the other when I broke off the decapping pin by turning the turret 360 degrees. I removed the die, replaced the pin readjusted, grabbed some primers and powder and was almost ready. I took an old case and ran it through the decapping die, and then attempted to move the turret around to the seating die, in order to seat the primer. I then broke off the second decapping pin, because I had the seating die on the wrong side of the shell holder mouth. So I replaced a second pin, and moved everything in the correct order. Now it was time to adjust the powder measure, I was using RL-15 which metered really nice. I turned the adjustment out a few turns and placed the pan from my 505 scale under