Optimum Barrel Time

Joec7651

Handloader
Apr 7, 2019
I would like to become more knowledgeable in finding the optimum barrel time a bullet should exit any given barrel to avoid the shockwave or reduce the impact of harmonics. I won’t muddy the water with incorrect Information on my behalf. I’d like for someone more technically adept at it to point me in the right direction regarding research and information. There’s a site I referenced but I suspect it’s more involved than checking a chart or spreadsheet. the site is as follows. It’s not an advertising site to build a website. Not sure why it says “create your website”.
Any direction on where to start will be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Last edited:
If you are using QuickLoad read this http://www.the-long-family.com/optimal barrel time.htm

I use this chart after I correct QL to my real velocities.
That’s a great start, thank you very much. I have been loading for 30+ years drawing on my own trial and error. I don’t discount that as it’s still gained experience, but As far as the scientific aspects go I would be hard pressed to consider myself much more than a novice. I have my loading journals from over the years but past that I haven’t collected much data. Its all hand written. I’ve been kicking around buying Quickload for a bit. It seems as if it’s much more than just a tool to ascertain what velocity a powder may give.

Last edited:
I would like to become more knowledgeable in finding the optimum barrel time a bullet should exit any given barrel to avoid the shockwave or reduce the impact of harmonics. I won’t muddy the water with incorrect Information on my behalf. I’d like for someone more technically adept at it to point me in the right direction regarding research and information. There’s a site I referenced but I suspect it’s more involved than checking a chart or spreadsheet. the site is as follows. It’s not an advertising site to build a website. Not sure why it says “create your website”.