Pressure signs

Trawick78

Beginner
Jul 6, 2022
270win browning Abolt shooting nosler brass an nosler ABLR 150grain with accuratte 4350 So I run into pressure signs half way through load data start load was 47.2 max load was 52.5 was getting ejector marks at 49.9 can anyone help me out this is my first batch I’ve ever loaded I’m extremely new to this the not everything in the note book is what I loaded the bullets

Attachments

• A39B9F9C-3B84-4F69-9931-F35F0A2C307C.jpeg
    A39B9F9C-3B84-4F69-9931-F35F0A2C307C.jpeg
    485.7 KB · Views: 18
  • FD68B73E-A439-418E-9BDE-8090EE6E869A.png
    FD68B73E-A439-418E-9BDE-8090EE6E869A.png
    2.5 MB · Views: 18
Seat the bullet deeper. If your o.a.c.l. is 3.355 your .015 over the tested length. Did you check to see if your jamming the bullet at 3.355? Forget chasing the lands until you get a grasp on what your doing. You may have a short throated chamber. Try shortening your o.a.c.l. length to 3.335 and see what happens.

Okay thanks an no I’m not jamming it into the lands at 3.335 I used the Hornady OAL gauge with the comparator an I got a measurement at the lands at 2.832 so I seated my buttet an checked it with the comparator at 2.755 witch that should have me .077 off the lands unless there’s something that I’m not understanding..I also checked the headspace with the headspace gauge an the new brass was 2.044 the brass with the ejector marks was 2.044 also it didn’t change any I figured that also may be part of the problem

How are you weighing your charges? Accurate load data for the 270 Win. is with Winchester brass. Internal difference in capacity could come in play here.
98848021-F1A9-4535-BF39-34D34D0EB6E0.png

I have another forum that I posted the other day that DrMike gave me a quick load for that powder and bullet I loaded it with a charge master lite so I had to load to the nearest tenth so being the 49.9 we’re I got the ejector marks the load off quick load showed 49.88

Nosler brass an ejector marks