Question About New Combo

Qubo

Beginner
Dec 23, 2020
Hi all. New to this forum. I'm on some other forums but wanted to ask in a Nosler specific forum.

I'm pretty new to reloading. This summer I worked up a load for my 300 win mag. I'm using 168gr E-tips H4350 with ok results. I was planning to do more adjusting to it once hunting season was over but do to the current ammo crisis I can't get H4350 anymore and I'm completely out. I've decided to move away from it because I plan to use this rifle for a long time and don't want to go through this again during future shortages. I only had 10 rounds for 3 rifle hunts.

Anyway, I've bought some IMR 4451 cause it seams always available and people online seam to think it's a good replacement for H4350 and maybe even better. But since it is a little newer there isn't much load data out there and I'm very unexperienced. 4451 isn't in the Nosler book. The Hodgden website says 70.5 grain max for a 168 bullet. But not specific to E-tip. But I've noticed their website seams to be 1-2 grains below the max loads in the Nosler manual. Just wondering if anyone has experience with this combo? Or any other tips would be very appreciated. Thanks

Nosler recommends to start low with the etips. Drop down 10% and work your way up. Never start with a max load.

Welcome.

I have no experience with the 300 mag, but IMR 4451 is a good powder in my 30-06 and 280. 4451 might be a little fast for the 300 mag and it might be great like peenut butter and jelly.

Hodgedon has data for 180 gr E-tips and 4451. Think it is 60.2 gr start and 65.5 gr max, I would start with that data (maybe 61 grains) and maybe go up a little higher (like 66 or 66.2 grains) due to your lower bullet weight, if I was comfortable and confident in reading pressure signs.