Seating Depth

George Foster

Beginner
Dec 4, 2005
If you are getting two shots and one out in a three shot groups should you seat the bullet longer or shorter?

I should have been more specific, this is a load I worked up a few months ago. I am talking a series of three shot groups not just one. I have shot groups as small as 3/16" and today for six three shot groups it averaged 9/16" for the six groups. It is just a Ruger MKII 243 sporter rifle, the groups all have two touching and one that is below. I know I seated this load at 2.630 instead of the 2.645 that I normally use for the rifle.

George,

I'm not an expert, but when I have 2 in and 1 out, I try seating deeper first. It usually helps shrink the group down, but not always.

Since you appear to be seating deeper already and have worse accuracy, you might be in "the not always situation". "The not always situation", is when environmental changes force a load out of its preferred "node". Usually warm or cold weather will take a load right at the edge of a node and open it up. For me, in these situations, seating depth adjustments don't help as much as adjusting the powder charge to better match the new conditions.

Hope that helps.

Nimrod84,

About four years ago I ran bullet seating depth tests on my rifles. My 243CDL gives the best groups at 2.630 and the Ruger seemed to shoot the best groups at 2.645. I have sometimes thought the Ruger gave me better groups at 2.625 and that is why I tried the 2.630 when I did the ladder test for this powder, bullet workup. I may well in the spring probably run another seating depth test with this rifle and this load. Or I may just test with the 2.625 seating depth and see what happens. I tend to feel you are correct about going shorter.

Yes I use the same bullet, the powder has varied.

All my rifles are glass bedded and barrels free floated.