Low & Left

otter25

Beginner
May 22, 2012
I'm consistently shooting my new S&W M&P Shield low and left. How the do I correct this.?

As a firearms instructor, I've found that to be the most common miss among inexperienced handgun shooters.

Generally it's a slight "flinch" or "anticipation" just as the shot is going off.

You can check this yourself with a "ball and dummy" drill. Have someone load a magazine with mostly live rounds, but a scatter a few dummy rounds in the magazine. The shooter can't know where they are. Then fire. It may take a couple of magazines, but usually its very clear when the gun jerks and... no shot has been fired...

Okay - so that diagnoses it - but doesn't cure it. It's only the first step.

Slow your trigger squeeze down. Way down. Nice, easy, soft, slow squeeze until the shot breaks.

Then perfect follow-through. Don't move from your shooting stance, don't change your grip, just hang there for a moment. Then relax the trigger finger and gently re-set the trigger. And repeat.

Keep your shooting strings short, maybe five shots or so.

Assuming you've got a good shooting stance, make sure your two-handed grip is good. The firing hand should be fairly relaxed, maybe 40% of the grip strength from it, the majority of the grip strength coming from your support hand. This makes it easier for the shooter to maintain fine motor skills in the shooting hand and trigger finger.

It helps to have a good coach. I like to use the "Mudget Drill" wherein the student shooter holds the gun on target. Perfect stance, perfect grip, perfect sight alignment and sight picture. Then I pull the trigger and reset it and fire again and again. At first I'm doing this without the student's finger on the trigger, then we put his finger on the trigger, but relaxed. And I do all the pressing, showing/teaching what a smooth trigger pull is all about. Many folks REALLY rush the trigger pull, which has disastrous effects on accuracy with a handgun.