.500 S&W handgun / water hole ????

Guy Miner

Master Loader
Apr 6, 2006
Interesting conversation with PH Mike Birch after he gave the .500 S&W a try at the range.

He was adamant that it would be terrific from a waterhole blind, for blue wildebeast and warthogs. Ranges from 20 - 40 yards for the most part. The blinds are intended primarily for bow hunters. I'm starting to warm up to the idea.

What do you think? 440 gr hard cast or 350 grain hollow point ? Will it really matter? :mrgreen:

Guy

I have no experience with the 500 but with the 44 I would go with the hard cast bullet just because every thing I've read about African animals is that they are hard to kill and the hard lead will penetrate where the hollow point won't. Shoot a 1/2 inch steel plate with both bullets or an old junk car door and see which one penetrates better. my money will be on the hard cast lead bullet even in the same weight.

I am in the "hard cast" camp also. I load a 350 HC in my 45/70 and 45/90 as well. I have yet to shoot "anything" with either but do have high hopes.

Guy
I don't own one but I've shot several up in Alaska. I did use one belonging to one of our guests to whack a porcupine. DRT. The Damn thing makes me giggle like a school boy seeing boobies. My guess is you could kill what ever you wanted using hard cast bullets. Seems I've read some one killed an elephant with one.
I'd like to find a model 92 in 500 sw. Make a heck of a handy ranch gun.

Yeah, I bought one the year they were introduced. 2003 maybe?

I shoot a box or two of handloads through it every year, just for kicks. Literally. My standard load is a 440 gr hard cast @ 1400 fps via AA #9.

Am of the impression that it will handily take any big game in North America, within range.

Guy

Guy,

The 500 S&W would be pretty cool to hunt with over a water hole.
I think a 440 gr hard cast @ 1400 fps would do the deed on anything you choose to shoot, big or small.

JD338

Guy Miner":28lcy7j3 said: