Load data

Elkman

Handloader
Apr 4, 2010
POP

I know that you have ran a quickload calculation for several folks here I wonder if you might do the same for me. I am working on a new load for my 7 mm STW and am finding conflicting information in my loading manuals. I have been using H-1000 for several years with good results. I am wanting to try some longer range shooting and have not had good luck with H-1000 with the 160 Accubonds. I have bought some RL 25 and according to some of my manuals I can load it the same as the H-1000. It is slower burning than H-1000 but other manuals show it being loaded at least two grains lighter? So I thought you might be able to help. As an old guy I really don't understand quickload but I can read the outputs and at least get some starting values. If you could run RL-25 with a 160 AccuBond type bullet I would a appreciate it very much. Any other infor relating to the difference between 25 and 1000 would also be appreciated. I need a starting medium load and maximum load.

Thanks Bill

Elkman,

The conflict in your loading guides is related to the fact that different barrels and different primers, as well as other differing conditions affect the outcome. Also, lot-to-lot variations in the propellants affect the outcome of the tests. Finally, bear in mind that you can't make a precise extrapolation from one bullet to another. Having said that, the data generated can be useful in suggesing powders and charges that would be acceptable for a given weight of bullet, provided you work up carefully, watching for pressure signs.

Some slower powders and maximum charges suggested by QuickLoad include: 93.5 g VN 560; 82.0 g Magnum; 76.5 g IMR 7828 SSC; 94.0 g US 869; 85.0 g Retumbo; 81.,5 g H 1000; 79.0 g RL 25; 80.0 g MagPro. You would want to drop back at least five percent on each of these and work up slowly to ensure that they are safe in your rifle.

Dr. Mike