"All around" 308 bullet?

Nan_wpg

Beginner
Feb 20, 2017
Excuse me as I'm new to the rifle, and reloading.

I have a 308 that I want to use as a "scout" type rifle. It will be used at the cabin for wolf, and black bear protection, as well as possible future hunting, and of course practice at the range.

Just as a scout rifle doesn't have to be the best at anything, but reasonably good at everything I'm wondering if there is a bullet that would fit the bill?

My rifle has shot both the 150 and 180 partitions in the federal vital shock ammo.
Both were resonably accurate, though I preferred the recoil of the 150.

Is the Partition from 150 to 180 adequate for my needs?

I'm also looking at the accubonds to,see if they shoot better.

The 150 Partition should be just fine for a wolf and medium black bear.... Anything bigger than medium in a black bear I would want a 180. Leave the 168 hpbt for paperpunching.

Combat Infidel":6unvnvuk said:
168 hpbt is pretty good all around

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Probably the best answer you'll get is above.

I've owned one 308 and ran 150 gr. bullets through it for deer. If I was going to use it for a general purpose/black bear protection the 165 grain PT would be on my short list. You ought to be able to get right at or close to 2800 fps and it would be enough bullet for almost anything.

chs

Nan_wpg

Welcome to the forum.
The 165 gr PT from your 308 Win is tough to beat.
FWIW, I killed my first black bear with a 150 gr PT from a 30-06. It took out the shoulders and exited the bear.

JD338

And this is where I get confused:

The 150 is faster than the 165 and 180, but it also has less SD.

Whats most important (other than obviously accuracy and placement) fps, or SD?

If I understand correctly the Partition just needs 1800 fps as a minimum.

Then I would be better off with a 180 Partition right?

Nan_wpg":2h2wruh0 said:
And this is where I get confused: