Neck Sizing

diverdown

Handloader
Apr 29, 2015
I know this subject has been discussed in the past but I'm curious as to who is doing this and the results their experiencing. The particular cartridge I'm interested in doing this with is the .300WM. Any thoughts?

I use Lee collet dies and really like them. I do believe they pruduce more accurate ammo than my FL dies generally. But I also really like that I don't have to lube the cases. Eliminating a step makes the process go a little faster. I do still FL size in some guns and you will eventually need to FL size the cases after a few neck sizings. I would encourage you to try it. I have no real experience with belted cases though and how much of a difference it will make in them. I would guess that cases that perfectly fit the chamber are always at an advantage.

My case prep involves Redding FL bushing dies and annealing at each firing, regardless of cartridge. Headspace off the shoulder with those belted cartridges. I believe consistency makes the best ammo, so I don’t vary my resizing techniques from one firing to the other. This wins more long range tournaments and obviously kills critters. Other techniques will and have worked for decades, but the trends are moved toward what I have described. I have never tried the collet dies from Lee so that may be a good option too. But day in and day out, the Redding FL bushing die / competition bullet seater die makes great ammo and is my choice. Keep us posted. Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Been loading for 30+ years and have yet to anneal a case. I use the collet dies for everything except the AR's. If I split a neck it just goes in the recycle bin. I don't know if it's considered match ammo but most of it shoots under 1" at 200yds.