130 Grain E-Tip Loads for 270 Winchester

Joec7651

Handloader
Apr 7, 2019
Hello all. I'm new to the forum, and happy to be here. I have been reloading for almost 35 years.

I came into 800 130 grain E-Tips for my 270 Win for $80, so I'm pretty keen on getting them to shoot well from my 24" barreled TC Venture. So far they have proven temperamental. I've started with IMR 4831 with fair results. I start getting pressure signs at 57 grains. I'm at 56.3 grains (which has been most accurate so far) seated .075" off the lands verified with a Hornady OAL Camparator, Federal brass, WLR primers, and no pressure signs. With this load I'm getting 1.28" groups at 100 yards. I haven't put them through my chrono yet.

I'm going to start increasing seating depth in .010" increments to see if I can tighten up the groups. The rifle will consistently put 5 rounds into .42" groups with 57.9 grains of the same IMR 4831 under a 130gr Speer Hot Cor chrono'd at 3137 fps.

I haven't varied the powder yet, but I have IMR 7828ssc, 4831, Alliant RL 22, 23, 25, and 26 on hand that would be suitable for it. My other powders wouldn't work for it so I didn't mention them. I also have a good supply of Win brass on hand for it, just haven't used it for this load. I will add that I've had good luck with my 7mm Rem Mag with the 140 grain .284 E-Tip. I'm wondering if anyone has any pointers or experience with E-Tips from their 270 Winchester. I included a photo of the rifle, I've since dyed the sling black.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    488.9 KB · Views: 1,891
Welcome to the forum. You are right about trying to seat them deeper, the E Tip often like to be seated pretty deep. You may even find best accuracy .100" off or even deeper. Haven't tried them in my 270 Win yet but in other caliber's that's exactly what happened.