30-06 straightforward hunting ammo

Guy Miner

Master Loader
Apr 6, 2006
Getting right out there on the cutting edge again with my hunting ammo prep... :grin:

H10CnTll.jpg

Exotic, hard to deal with 30-06 cartridge cases from some upstart company.

Exotic, barely proven bullet from that same company. Seems to weigh about 165 grains and has some kind of odd construction. A wall or Partition or something in the middle. Weird. Leaves lead exposed at both ends of the bullet. Likely a health hazard, but I'll deal with it.

Primers from some outfit in Lewiston, Idaho. CCI or something? I dunno. Hope they know what they're doing. Good primers are kinda important I think.

Gunpowder? Hmm... Probably try some of that H4350 stuff. It's brand new and I've never used it before, especially not in the 30-06... :wink:

Yup - it's hard being out here on the edge - pushing the envelope like this... :mrgreen:

Crud - I wonder if a 30-06 with a 165 gr Nosler will even work on game animals? Yikes!

Guy

If I remember correctly some wild fella once said that a 30-06 with 165 grain pills were good medicine to most animals in the lower 48.. Does that ring a bell? :grin: :grin:

Hoping that my recollection is true as I have some strangely similar components in my inventory waiting to be assembled into elk and mule deer medicine.. Am in the early stages of load development with my rebuilt "Rem-Hart" 30-06 from R.W. Hart and Son in PA. So far it looks promising, but life and summer weather had slowed the development process.

Thanks for your post Guy, it gave me a good chuckle :lol:

Primers from some outfit in Lewiston, Idaho. CCI or something? I dunno. Hope they know what they're doing. Good primers are kinda important

Guy

I suggest that you get 200 of them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nashtims":2dk7xof0 said:
Primers from some outfit in Lewiston, Idaho. CCI or something? I dunno. Hope they know what they're doing. Good primers are kinda important

Guy