Cup n Core 7mm - 175 grain

filmjunkie4ever

Handloader
May 4, 2011
Being a .30 cal man I’m pretty new to the 7mms personally. I’ve loaded for others in 7x57, .284, .280, 7 Rem and 7 STW but never for myself.

I built a simpler 7mm Rem Mag (Savage 110, Shaw barrel) this last year and though I’m sure to catch hell for this I’m wanting for now to shoot 175 grain Hornady SP or Speer Mag-Tips. Anyone have any experience with either that they would care to share?

I’m not planning to take this for Grizzly Bears or Buffalo, merely deer and occasional elk or black bear. I’m an ardent fan of premium bullets, especially the Partition and AccuBond. But this rifle for now is going to be fed the cup n cores.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I hunted with a 7RM for over two decades. Actually my 1st buck was shot with the 7RM and factory 175's. I was not impressed.

Just my $0.02, but I think you'll be far better off with a 150, or a 160 gr.

I used 162 gr Solid Bases for as long as they were available. GREAT bullet. Then switched to the 150 gr Ballistic Tips at about 3000 fps. Zero complaints. Put a truck load of venison in the freezer.

Think about this. Find a good load with the 150 BT for your deer hunting, and then simply switch over to the AccuBond for your elk & bear.

Using 175 gr cup and core bullets are very common here even on moose and bear so you will be fine. Both the Hornady and Mag Tip are some of the better 175's anyway.