Don't Use Mid Loads In A New Rifle Without Checking

Joec7651

Handloader
Apr 7, 2019
By my own complacence I learned a valuable lesson. Don't fire even mild loads in a new rifle without checking chamber dimensions!

I took a new 7mm RM to the range with mild Partition loads for its first firing. Rounds chambered fine, and the first 3 rounds split the necks. Turns out the Partition bullets were jammed into the rifling even with SAMMI specs. They were not top end loads by any means but the fact that the bullet was jammed into the rifling raised pressures to the point that it split the necks of the first three rounds fired. Primers were still round but the necks split non the less. After having the rifle checked by a smith its fine, but learn from my carelessness. Verify that your loads fit your chamber and throat before firing, even if they are mild loads in another rifle. The fact that they were mild loads was the only reason nothing went terribly wrong. I've been loading for 30+ years and know better. I got complacent. I was stupid and very lucky. There was no indication with recoil or muzzle blast but the outcome could have been much worse. I thought the rounds would be completely safe because they were mild loads. I did not however check what the COAL for that rifle should be. Learn from my mistake. I was lucky, another may not be so fortunate. Just a reminder to not take things for granted when we load.

Thank you for sharing.

I measure the chambers with the Hornady gauge tool. I noticed a 300 wsm my son has has a short throat. If I load SAAMi, I’m in the rifling. I received the brass and about 50 handloads from the previous owner, lots of split necks...I haven’t tried to replicate his load as I have a tendency to choose heavier bullets. I’ll go check if they are on the lands...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk