8x57 Load for Fall

6.5_sWv

Beginner
Mar 5, 2019
Ive been loading for the 8x57 for a few years and Ive been able to test several bullets, but this year, I decided to try a new one. I was able to find a load pretty quickly with the 175gr Sierra ProHunter and CFE 223. Im shooting this load in a Sauer 100 with a 22inch barrell.

175gr Sierra ProHunter
53.5gr CFE 223
R-P brass
Remington 9 1/2 Large Rifle Primer
3.096'' COAL
5 shot avg velocity of 2729fps @ muzzel

The picture of the group was shot while my MagnetoSpeed was still attached and the hole with marks was a sight adjustment not part of the group.

Looking forward to smashing one of these Sierras into a deer or bear this fall.

75swwp.jpg

l5e4dC.jpg

That’s outstanding accuracy! Great job!
You’re definitely up to the job of getting a deer!
Keep me posted on the harvest!!

Hawk

That load will work for you. Fine accuracy that will take down almost anything you might wish to hunt with that rifle/load.

The old 8x57 isn't doing bad at all on both speed and accuracy. Good shooting. I've been looking at a Sauer 101, but didn't decide yet. They look like very well made rifles for the money.

ShadeTree":2b6bp41u said:
The old 8x57 isn't doing bad at all on both speed and accuracy. Good shooting. I've been looking at a Sauer 101, but didn't decide yet. They look like very well made rifles for the money.

I cant speak for the Sauer 101, but the 100 series is top notch and its the bottom rung in their series of rifles. Im sure the 101 would be a fantastic rifle. This 100 is super accurate with most bullets/powders and the bolt is butter smooth compared to other rifles in its price category. Its comfortable to shoot, carries well in the woods, is just about the right amount of weight and if you like the European look has a nice schnabel forend. If your on the fence, Id say pull the trigger, your bound to like it.