5.11 Rush 72 backpack

Ridgerunner665

Handloader
Oct 28, 2008
I thought I'd do this little write up in case anybody needs a good travel backpack...this one is.

As most of you know I'm a truck driver, but over the last 3 years I've gravitated from hauling freight into doing truck recovery for them. That is to say I go get trucks that have been broke down, abandoned, drivers fired, etc. I also deliver new trucks to drivers and take their old trucks back to the sale lot.

I'm always on the road either in a truck or a rental car...occasionally I fly, if its a time sensitive matter. I sort of fell into this position by accident, pure luck, but I'm glad I did.

I don't sleep in the used trucks at all, and only occasionally sleep in the new ones...I'm in a motel pretty much every night, which is what led to me finding a good backpack...one gets tired of climbing 3 flights of stairs carrying a large duffle bag, a backpack, and a computer bag...its hard to even open a door with all that...I wanted it all in one bag that I could carry on my back. I tried very hard to find a combo that would fit in a carry on size bag....no joy...not gonna happen.

I carry 3 full changes of clothes besides the ones I have on, 3 long sleeve shirts, a hi-vis safety vest, a handheld CB, shower/shaving supplies, basic meds (headache relief), a denim coat, work gloves, log books, a flashlight, a 13" laptop, and a few other odds and ends...all that fits into the Rush 72 nicely, and the pack carries pretty easily even loaded with nearly 30 pounds.

Its a tough bag, made of 1050D Ballistic Nylon, I've only had it a month or so...but I can see that it is tough and very well made. I do have a light duffle to put it in to protect is from the baggage handling equipment at airports...those folks and machines could tear up an anvil in a sandbox from what I've seen.