Decisions, Decisions..What would you choose?

hunter24605

Handloader
Apr 30, 2016
So I've found three loads for the 270 WSM that are very accurate and pretty fast, and I'm not sure which, if any, is a better than the others for the upcoming deer/bear season..

140 NAB with reloder 26 is .319" group @ 3245 fps. I've had fantastic results with the AB in other cartridges, and have no doubts it will perform great in the WSM, but wondering how it will fair at those speeds should one of those 50 yard shots present itself....

130 E-Tip pushed to just under 3300 fps by RL-22 and groups .4". I have zero experience with this bullet, but information from folks like Dr. Mike and others, whose opinions I hold in high regard, assure it will perform admirably.

130 Scirocco getting a good kick in the pants by MagPro to 3315, while not as accurate as the other two, it still does 3/4" and could probably get better accuracy if it weren't so finicky, and I wanted to devote more time to it (which I don't have time to right now) and it took quite a bit to get it to 3/4". This is another one that I have no on game experience with, but reading about it gives me the impression it will work very well.

So, there's my own Sophie's Choice. All three are fantastic bullets. Just because of past, positive experiences, I'm leaning toward the 140 AB. I like splitting the difference between 130 and 150 with the 140 AB, but concerned about those close up shots. I'm certain it be outstanding shooting across the pastures, but quite often they pop up out of a draw right on top of me.