His first (and second) Turkey Hunting Tom

NYDAN

Handloader
Sep 17, 2013
I have two younger neighbors who are both named Caleb. Caleb C. and Caleb T. are brother-in-laws. Caleb C. has posted on this forum as Capt. Cook. He has only recently started hunting and has hunted and shot deer on my property. Caleb T., grew up in a family that hunted but seems mostly self taught and wants to learn and experience much more.

I took Caleb T. turkey hunting yesterday on the first day of our spring turkey season. Although Caleb had, by chance, shot a tom while bow hunting for deer, he had never gotten a turkey while turkey hunting.

Since I had been sick, I didn’t have a chance to do any real preparation like put up any pop-up blinds, or move an mobile blinds around, or put in any distance marker stakes. In fact, I only got my hunting gear around after dinner the night before.

So, we went up on the hill behind the barn. I put Caleb T. in the “Shooting Hut” and I went on over to the small wooden blind under a pine tree near the south west end of the field. I set out two hen decoys and one jake decoy in front of my blind.

After I set up the decoys I crawled into the blind and got my calls out of my pockets. As I went to set down the box call, I bumped it and it made a cluck. A tom immediately cobbled straight down the hill from me. It was a good start to a great morning.