beat up "old" Kimber

Guy Miner

Master Loader
Apr 6, 2006
I jumped on the Kimber wagon right away. Bought the first one I saw, in 1997 and am still carrying it. Every day, rain or shine, this thing gets carried in the boonies, in the city... It's been banged into stuff. Has had the snot shot out of it. Hard to say how many rounds through it, but a bunch.

I'm a firearms instructor and was on SWAT for eleven years, most of that time carrying the Kimber. It has hardly ever bobbled - and then only with shoddy lead bullet reloads that I hadn't properly sized.

Kimber45.jpg

The only modification I've made to it are the addition of Heinie "straight eight" night sights. I've worn out several sets of internal springs, and also several sets of grips. I've taught a bunch of people how to shoot, using this pistol - and it never fails to deliver. Quite a few folks elected to buy a Kimber after trying this one too - maybe I should ask for a new one from the factory since this one has sent some business their way?

Great "old" gun after 9 years of service, and I think I'll just keep right on carrying it! A fellow should remember that prior to Kimber, most of the stuff found on today's 1911's had to be added onto a Colt or Springfield, piece by piece, by a gunsmith. Kimber changed all that, coming out with an affordable, good shooting pistol already equipped with stuff like beavertail grip safety, good sights, beveled mag well and a surprisingly tight slide-to-frame fit. Now, many different 1911 makers offer the same features, but it was unusual when Kimber brought out their affordable, accurate handguns, decked out with the most popular modifications.

Regards, Guy

I had a buddy of mine that bought a Kimber(don't remember the exact model) in I believe, late 1996? I remember being very impressed. I finally bought a Kimber 1911 last year, the PRO TLE/RL II. It shoots very nice. Does well with the Federal 230 grain Hydrashok as well! :twisted: