Sidearm Advice

bob_dobalina

Handloader
Oct 6, 2009
Hi folks, I am in market for a sidearm and have focused my search to glock and possibly springfield xd. The purpose of the pistol will be mostly a sidearm to carry while archery hunting for the possibility of wolves and mountain lion - I'll still carry bear mace for griz. It would also serve dual purpose as home protection and to pack when camping and backpacking. I am liking the idea of a 10mm but am open to other calibers. I am new to pistols but I would like to reload for it. I'm a bit concerned on what I have read about reloading for glock - it seems you may need a replacement barrel due to case expansion? Anyways - what would you recommend? What a 40 S&W fit the bill? There's a good deal on springfield XD compact right now locally. Any personal experiences with these calibers and platforms? How about the glock 29? I figured this would be a good place to get some good advice, even though this particular forum (Glock) doesn't get alot of traffic.

I am not a Glock man so I can't help there.
The 10mm is a powerful round and would serve you well.
I am a fan of the 45 ACP. Loaded with 230 gr JHP's, it is a stopper and would work well on wolves and mt. lion.

JD338

I've owned a Glock 23 ( .40 cal) for many years and for the same basic requirements you describe. It is a great choice.

However, I would definitely recommend going to a range and shooting any gun you may be considering, prior to buying. My 23 is fine for me, but many people new to handguns find the recoil excessive. A 10mm is even more so. Beyond that, fit and feel are top priorities.

I would stick with the 10mm if you will be in Grizzly country. 200 FPS difference between the 40 S&W and the 10mm. 230gr hardcast out of the 10mm over 1100 FPS, should get the attention of anything.

Glock 20 with Lonewolf 6.6" thread barrel
1311079372.jpg