PLEASE HELP !!!!

bcd

Beginner
Sep 27, 2004
As I've mentioned in other forms I own a Remington 700 chambered in 270 win that I've been shooting for about 15 years, but the gun is about 20-25 years old, but was never fired untill my father gave it to me at the age of 12 or 13. Right now it is still shooting o.k. but last year my groups started to open up a little bit and this year a little more and I think that it may be time for a new barrel, and I was thinking about a hart , but then i thought that an ackley improved might be nice, if there is one, any information on this would be greatly considered and helpful.

Have you checked all the action and scope mount screws?

Have you changed your ammunition recently?

Have you cleaned it lately?

Check the crown for damage. Check the stock for cracks. Check your scope.

George

I'm with George on this one. I would exhaust oall other possible options before a rebarrel. It is rare indeed to shoot out a non magnum hunting rifle barrel in a lifetime of normal use. Remove the barrel from the stock and reassemble. Clean the barrel with a high quality copper fouling removing solvent. Remove your scope and then reattach it. Inspect everything very closely. If that doesn't work, switch scopes from another gun and try again. I just don't believe that barrel could be gone yet unless you shoot a whole lot.

Paul