New Rifle Suggestions

Richracer1

Handloader
May 12, 2005
Heading to Idaho on Oct 15 for a hunting trip, and was thinking of a new rifle or handgun. My first thoughts are getting a 460 or 500 S&W or a .338RUM. I currently own a Ruger SRH 44, Browning 338WM and a Win 270 WSM along with a 223, 204 and 300 Savage. I'm not really interested in a 7mm. I might even consider a 30 cal something. Purpose is for big gime (elk, bear, moose). Before you ask, no I don't need another rifle, but does that really matter? Let me know your thoughts. Oh, I have my 338WM shooting 225 AB, so I was thinking of the 338RUM with 250 PT. If I buy, I'll buy in ID since I'm still a resident there and won't to deal with the CA 10 day wait and $25 background fee.

**** UPDATE ****

For any one just checking this out, I purchased a 300RUM. See below for more specifics.

Idaho, cool :wink:
I think you need the 338RUM. I have got mine in the Sendero variety(which you cannot get anymore) It seems to have a liking for 250 grain partitions, I hope to use it one day on a big elk or brownie!
I did not need the 338RUM when I bought it either, already having a 340WBY which I really like. Did it stop me, heck no!!
Good luck on your hunt by the way, I usually hunt unit 36 for elk(when I don't draw) and 54 for Muleys. :grin:

340boy, I'm from Idaho Falls. I'll be hunting unit 69 for cow elk/muleys/bear. At least that's what I have tags for. I got my first cow elk last year using my 270WSM loaded with 160pt. Shot was about 75 yrds. Good luck this year with your hunts.

Cool!
Unit 69 is supposed to be good for elk, from what I hear. Again, good hunting, and let us know what rifle you decide to buy!

I would seriously consider a 300WSM due to the fact that you have a .338 bore! The extra weight that you save would come in handy. I have a Kimber 8400 and it is a pleasant rifle to shoot and carry. Just my 2 cents worth.