Bench form revelation

ART300WSM

Beginner
Mar 19, 2017
I'm almost to embarrassed to admit this, but hopefully it will help someone to avoid the same mistake as I have been making for the last 2&1/2 decades.

Been shooting HP rifles and bolt action slug guns from the bench in the pursuit of achieving the highest level of accuracy as I could for a LONG time now. In all those years I would, like most other people have days when I shot outstanding groups and other days, not so much.

About 10-12 years ago, I finally admitted I really didn't know much about what form to use to properly shoot a hard recoiling rifle from the bench, so I invested in numerous books on the subject, but all of those books centered around either legitimate bench rifles that shot mild recoiling rounds or "F Class" rifles neither of which proved terribly helpful shooting a 8.5lb 338wm or my newest acquisition a Tikka T3 in 300wsm that with optics barely weighs 7.4lbs.

I did learn some invaluable information like using a well made front rest that adjusted for wind and elevation as well as using well made shooting bags filled with "heavy sand" along with how to properly mount your rifle in the rest and bags as well as a lot about what form to use grasping the rifle, hand placement, trigger squeeze and so on.

Basically what I had done was take the bench form used for shooting 20-40lb bench rest specific rifles and modify it for use shooting hard recoiling hunting rifles.

What I failed to learn until quite recently turned out to be the most important facts of all. I had been dissatisfied with my most recent shooting with my new Tikka. Although I was getting some great groups, I was getting more fliers than I was use to. Some of the fliers I attributed to the Tikka's lite weight, but I strongly suspected there was likely something else influencing the rifle causing my accuracy inconsistencies.