308 vs. 7mm-08

runtohunt

Handloader
Mar 7, 2012
I have a Rem 700 that I won last spring a Mule Deer Foundation Dinner. The rifle is chambered in 243. I want to build my son, who will be twelve this spring, a rifle that he could use for deer, antelope and elk. I plan to have Pac-Nor replace the barrel and true the action for Christmas and then place the barreled action in a McSwirly in April for his birth day. Nov '17 we will go to Colorado for a cow elk hunt.

I have no experience with either cartridge.

At first, I was going to go with the 308 but then I started thinking about the 7mm-08. I like the wide variety of bullets for the 7 and the excellent ballistic coefficients. I have become a devote fan of the 7mm over the last two years. I hope in the future I will have him shooting out to 400 yards which may be too far for elk in either cartridge(?).

What say you? 7mm-08 or 308? Thank you in advance for your input.

Either the 7mm-08 or the 308 is a great cartridge that will work well. Obviously, the advantage of the 308 is greater frontal area and perhaps a larger weight range for bullets, but I would say that any advantage is slight. In practise, I don't see that much of an advantage. Either cartridge will give you great service, without a doubt. For a younger shooter, I'd lean toward the 7mm-08, primarily because it may appear less intimidating. Don't know that there is a practical advantage of one over the other, however. By the way, that will be a super birthday gift.

Both rifles will do the job. I went with the 7mm-08 for my wife and daughters. It is extremely accurate. I have worked up loads for the 120 gr. BT, the 140 gr. BT and the 139 gr. IB. We use Varget.
In 2 weeks we head out for my youngest first cow elk. I have buddies who shoot the little 7 who cleanly and swiftly kill elk out to 450 yards. They shoot 140 gr. Accubonds.
What a cool gift! I'm sure your son will love either one!