70's 700 Build By Alaskan Hard Head

gbflyer

Handloader
Mar 28, 2017
A few people, okay 1, have asked me about my exploits learning about rifle building. I am a hobbyist, I do not perform work for others, and assume all risk for what I do. As I’ve stated before, I live in rural Alaska and have no hands - on mentor. We have to fly or boat to where we live. I have a fair grasp of mechanical things and quite a bit of metal fabrication and welding experience thanks to a former life as a produce farmer and builder of custom equipment for such, but not really any precision machining experience up until 3 years ago. I do have a bit of a perfectionist way about me for some things according to some in my family. I am no machinist or gunsmith by any stretch of the imagination and claim no position as an expert. This, and the writing, is purely an exercise in passing the time while trying to keep my mushy brain somewhat sharp during the cold, wet SE AK winter.

I decided that if I wanted to learn about this stuff I was on my own. Thankfully, there are a TON of resources out there, both online and in books, and I am forever grateful to those who are willing to share freely with complete strangers. It takes a tremendous amount of courage to put yourself forth in front of a community so often times very willing to eat their own (not so much here at the Nosler Forum. Thanks all). Please keep that in mind if you can stand to read my 8th grade writing and feel like hitting reply. All constructive stuff is taken to heart and appreciated. Sorry in advance as I don’t take a bunch of pictures, and much of the minutia of my feeble machining skills are left out. Please excuse punctuation, and grammar, I’m a product of a very sorry public school system and no college. So, if you’ve had plenty of caffeine, or need material to prepare for a 2 hour nap, here goes:

Chapter 1.