25-06....educate me please!

A

Anonymous

I've long considered myself a dedicated gun crank, but don't have much experience with the 25 cals except for a brief whirl with a .257WBY.

Local hook and bullet has a Barrett Fieldcraft in 25-06 that feels just fantastic and has a 1:9 twist. Frankly, if it were an 06 or .270...I'd have bought it straight out.

I know we've got some 25-06 fans hanging out here, please educate me!

While I have no experience with the 25-06 myself, I have hunted with a couple of guys over the years that had them and loved them.
With some more handloading experimenting, I should come close to the same velocities as the factory loaded 25-06 ammo with my 250AI and Re-26. It is a fun rifle to shoot, even with the factory 100gr ammo while fireforming cases! Have only harvested coyote with it so far...need to take it after antelope! (My original plan!)
I have long thought that a 25-06 would make a great pairing to go with my 280 Rem and 338-06. A three rifle battery that would cover all of north america very well!
Someday I will bite the bullet and buy or build one on a LH Sako or Remington action.

If it feels that good and balance well in your hands and at your shoulder, it sounds like it should go home with you, then out to the range, and then out in the field! There be a caribou and a blacktail out there calling you and your new quarterbore!!!

With that twist, the 110 to 120 gr bullets should be your better choices...or even that new 130gr bullet I have seen talked about here in another thread.

Picked up a couple boxes of 115 gr BT's today to try in my 250AI or the 257 Bob.

I was turned on to the 25-06 years ago by a friend who had hunted with one for many years. He used it for whitetail deer and pronghorn antelope, nothing bigger. He told me how the caliber put the animals on the ground, right there, right now.