25-06 Loading

AFG270

Handloader
Aug 26, 2013
With my 25-06 barreled action on the way from Pac-Nor, I have all the reloading components to start working up loads. I have been reloading for over 40 years, but only enough to find a good hunting load. So questions to all you experienced reloaders, where do I start? I have new Nosler brass, 100g BT and 115g PT both blems at a very good price. I have only used new brass once in the past, always buying ammo to break-in the barrel and then reloading the once fired brass. But with the price of ammo I thought I would just start with reloads. Should I start working up loads with new brass or just load up some starting to medium range loads to break-in the barrel, get sighted in and get some once fired brass?

Any thoughts?

I'd just use cheapie bullets with moderate loads to run in the new barrel & then get to grips with proper hunting loads when happy with barrel.

I'm with ET, get some 100-117 grain Hornadys and something like 4350 to get it sighted in and ran in a little.

Once you get that, get some 7828/7977, RL26 or Retumbo. Any of those will crank those 115's really nicely and should give you excellent accuracy. Again, can't wait to see what you come up with.

Agree with the two fellows already speaking out. I would just use those 100 gr. BT's since you have them already as break-in bullets. They are pretty cheap. 50 rounds should have you ready to load some serious stuff up.

IMR4350 with the 115 Partition would be a great combination. IMR7882SSC would also work well as would H4831SC which is kind of a classic for the 25-06.

In my wife's 25-06 with 120 gr. Partitions I used IMR4350 and it worked well.

Thanks everyone. I have lots of IMR 4350 and some Retumbo and 7828ssc. Anyone use RL 17 with the 100g bullets? Looks like it gives good velocity with lighter bullets. I may pickup some RL 26 for the ETips once I get the barrel broken in.