300 WSM Resizing problems

Cooper

Beginner
Oct 15, 2005
I am new to reloading so I'm not sure if my problem is common. I set up my press for my 300WSM casing and after resizing, the bullet would fall right through. I am not sure why this is happening. Prior to setting up for my 300WSM I set up my reloading press for my 270 Win, and everthing worked great. Can anyone help as to why the resizing would still be too big for the 180 gr Accubonds ? If you need more information let me know.
Thanks
NC.

Since you reload for a 270 and have no problems, Like you I'm surprised with your problem

First thing to check is that that your using the right sizing die, shellholder and check the bullet by measuring the bullet with your caliper.

Then always re-read the die directions that came with it. The die or you are either not resizing enough or the expander plug is too big.

I'd remove the expander plug from the die and measure it's outside diameter with your calipers. It should be slightly less than the diameter of the bullet. If not check with the manufacturer.

Then, I'd go through the resizing procedure. Raise the ram all the way up, screw the die down till it hits the ram, lower the ram and give another 1/4 turn to the die so that when the ram is raised again it "cams over" at full stoke. As you know if resized correctly, the neck should be too tight to accept a slug (problem solved). If not check with the manufacturer.

If die and expander plug both perform as they should, reassemble the two, being sure to have the decapper pin extend past the bottom of the die the instructed amount.

I hope this helps. When I started reloading for a 243WSSM, I ran into three problems. Getting the right shellholder, getting a powder funnel that would work and getting a new Bullet Puller (inertia hammer) with the proper Magnum Chuck to fit the new shell.

Good Shooting-----Good Hunting[/color]

Bigdog2n, Thanks for the reply.