Mixed headstamp 223 - Thoughts

AzDak42

Handloader
Jan 26, 2012
So thanks to a few buddies and a purchase off one of my other forum regulars, I've come into possession of about 2k mixed headstamp 223/556 brass with another 2k on the way.

Talk about a find! It's all in really good shape, fairly clean and the primers are all removed and it even looks to have been swaged. (My primer pocket uniformer easily passes in all the primer pockets.)

I've never used this sort of brass before... I'd like some validation on what I'm thinking.

45% has WCC headstamps with a wide range of dates. This is very uniform in appearance and the headstamps are all very uniform in layout.

50% is a very wide assortment of LC headstamps. I think I have every era of their headstamps represented, including the most recent that show the nato circle/cross designation.

5% is a mixed bag of TW, RA, RP, PMC, FC etc. All in good shape, but not enough of any to make a designated batch worthwhile.

Here's what I'm thinking

I'll finish cleaning all the WCC and use it to build up my SHTF/Accurate plinking ammo with modest charges pushing 69g S HPBT MKs

I'll separate the LC headstamps by era, and use them for blasting/plinking with the blem 55g Btips

The mixed heastamp stuff, I'll use for some very modest, 55g FMJ pulldowns as pure plinking ammo

Is the LC worth segmenting between the nato marked and non-nato marked? How much difference is there between various years of LC?

Thanks gents - sort of new to this bulk reloading business and I have a lot to learn!

just load em up and go shoot!
the 223 case is so small, that variations in internal dimensions is minimal.
I'd load them all modestly and have fun!