Reloading Manuals Must Have

ldg397

Handloader
Sep 27, 2007
I would say overall I am fairly new to reloading starting the last 15 years. I have a couple of manuals namely the Barnes #4 and the Nosler #6. I have been prepping to start loading 308 Norma which it isn’t in any of my manuals. So I acquired a Norma manual but didn’t realize it only has Norma powders. However, after reviewing it I really like the manual and think I will keep it.

So basically I have a several part question.

1. For 308 Norma which manual has the most information.

2. Are the older manuals better as far as less conservative or lawyered up. Would it be beneficial to get one like a Hodgdon #26 or something similar?

3. I was wondering what manuals you can’t live without. If you could only keep one in your collection which would it be??

My Nosler Reloading Guide #4 has a section covering the .308 Norma, as does my older Hodgons Manual. I am sure some of the newer ones do also. Hodgons online "Reloading Data Center" has information, as well as an internet search provides data from other powder companies, and articles and references for loading. It's really a clone of the .300 WM except for the neck length. What is it you are missing?
Your Questions
1. I don't know.
2. I think that there are two components here, in my youth the data provided was provided by far less sophisticated processes than that available in later years. Of course "product liability" is a facet of our lives and must be considered, when providing information regarding powders. Todays powders are also slightly different that 50 years ago.
3. My PO Ackley, Nosler, and Hodgons.

I have been loading since the early 1960's, and was a hot rodder in my early years, not so now.

Hope I helped.

I picked up a used Nosler #2 and #3. About 10 each delivered.
And a Nosler #9.