25-06 LOAD

Dlallder

Beginner
Aug 20, 2017
I am having a heck of a time developing an accurate load using the 115 & 120 Partition. I have tried about everything I can think of to no avail. I have a load using the 115 Ballistic tip and 51 gr of RL-22 that makes one hole in the wife's Tikka but the partitions make a hole here and another hole there. I need some help. I am not a newbie to reloading been reloading since I was 35-40 yo and will turn 76 come Sunday. Have never had so much frustration in developing a new load. Have tried IMR4350, RL17, RL19, RL22. Do the partitions need , want, speed? I have tried a little over max in load books but to no avail. Thanks for any information you are willing to give. Daniel

Those are the powders I use for 25-06. My dad's load for the gun was R22 and 120 partitions a little over book. They put 3 under a nickel. BT's do shoot smaller than that, probably under a dime.

One thing that helped in that rifle was to clean all the copper out. Used a foam that is safe to be left in overnight after I had done the standard brushing and patching out with other abrasives and solvents. Tightened up groups 1/3".

I also use a comparator from Sinclair to get the bullets of different construction to seat out from the lands the same distance.

Do you weight sort the bullets and brass?

I have had partitions that were varying lengths when measured using the comparator. They were different batches from over many years.

CLEARWATER, Do you know what the load is? What is the COAL? Some of the data show a COAL of 3.250, others show 3.080. I don't think copper is a problem but will give it a extra good cleaning before the next trip to the range. Thanks for the information. Got out of town company coming tomorrow or I would be at the range. Daniel

First of all Happy Birthday, I hope you have a great one.