257 Roberts pet loads

JohnD386

Beginner
Jan 16, 2012
I have a Browning A Bolt in 257 Roberts with a 20" barrel. I have played around with 110gr Accubonds and 115gr BTs using 4350, 4064, and H4350. COAL is 2.780. Groups are about 2" to 2.5". I was thinking about playing with COAL to see if that's keeps. Any suggestions? This gun shoots 1" groups with factory 117gr Hornady custom. This gun has me scratching my head. I am no expert and still a newbie to reloading but have great success with all of my other cartridges.

If standard deviations are less than 1%, it would indicate that adjusting OAL will give you the accuracy you seek.

My .257 Roberts is a full length magazine and is freebored to allow seating to a COAL of 2.920 with a 24 inch barrel. I shoot the 110 Accubonds with Hodgdon Hybrid 100 V. However I am not getting good results with this rifle and the 110 AccuBond using the long COAL. With the 85 and 100 grain Nosler's, this rifle easily shoots between .5 and 1 MOA at 100 yards. I need to shorten my loads somewhat for this 110 AB bullet. The Accubonds seem to shoot better with a shorter COAL, shorter even than the 2.780 SAAMI COAL because I have factory Nosler loads for the 110 AB and they are not that accurate in my rifle.

If all else fails you could trade your current stock of bullets for some of the Hornady Interlocks, as they seem to work well in the factory ammo. Its worth trying different seating depths or varying the charge weights first though imo.

I have some Hornady Interlocks in .338. They are not as accurate as Partitions, if you weigh them and not nearly as accurate as Ballistic tips. I am pretty consistently shooting close to 1/2 inch groups with the Ballistic Tips, no reason to change!

Best I can get in the factory magazine is 2.792 OAL. I'll try them at that length and see what happens. If that does not work I may try 100gr Partitions.