.280 Load Question

markdille,

I think you just nailed it. My gunsmith has told me the same thing.
The 280 AI is a very efficient cartridge. My 280 AI has a tight chamber
and a long throat. My loaded COL is 3.505".
In fact, 280 Rem brass that has been full length resized in a RCBS die will not chamber in the 280 AI.

SOTN,
I have been reloading for 32 years. Experience has taught me that accuracy is far more important than max fps aka pressure.
The loads that I am shooting in my 280 AI were given to me from my gunsmith, who has built many 280AI's. He has loaded even higher powder charges without any pressure problems. I chose to stop where I am because I have more than enough velocity (verified with my Oehler 35) and the accuracy is excellent (sub 1/4 MOA).
When I bought the Nosler 280AI brass, I dropped my load back down and worked up. With my Nosler brass, my load is 1.0 grain less than with the R-P brass.
My loads are safe in my rifle. :grin:

JD338

From Jarrett Rifles Website:

.280 Ackley Improved

120 gr. Nosler Bullet............3340 fps
140 gr. Nosler Bullet............3150 fps
150 gr. Nosler Bullet............2950 fps