Binocs

RiverRider

Handloader
Dec 9, 2008
I'm thinking about acquiring some beter binoculars. I'm inclined toward a 10x42 and either the Leupold McKinley or a Nikon Monarch 7. If money wasn't tight I'd probably go with Swarovski but that's not in the cards.

So...anyone have experience with either or both of these? Maybe another suggestion? I think my spending limit will be about $600.

Yes, I'm a veteran. I have certain reservations about Vortex, though.

Look at Minox.
If I can't have Zeiss or Swarovski I'll have Minox.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

RiverRider
I own the luepold and love them. One of my BIL owns an expensive pair of Swarovski. Sure there is a little difference, but not like you would expect. I'm an Oregonian so I am biased, but for the money I believe you would be satisfied.

The reviews on the McKinley HDs seem to confirm that.

If the Vortex deal for vets is really outstanding I may take a closer look, though. I'll check out Minox too.

I love Leupold! I have quite a few gold ring scopes, gold ring binos and a gold ring spotting scope. They are all awesome....but if I was spending $600 on binos I would buy the Vortex Viper HD. They are less than $600 and are amazing. I was leary on Vortex at first too, but not anymore. I have heard stories of their customer service which would make you want to drop everything else and only own Vortex. I own a Vortex rangefinder and it is great. They are worth a look at least. If I was buying another pair, they are what I would buy.

Don't forget the Cameraland deals on Meopta Meostars. I haven't ever heard someone not compare them to Swaros. Zeiss Conquest HDs are in that same range as well.

Good luck and please let us know what you get.