Can i make any grain bullet work?

buckfat

Beginner
Dec 25, 2008
Newbie here, I shoot a T/C 30-06 Pro Hunter 28" barrel 1-10 twist. I am just getting into reloading. When i first got my gun I tried different factory brands and grains of bullets. My gun ended up liking 180 grain bullets the best. When i start reloading i would like to be able to shoot 150-165-168-180 grain bullets. I know accuracy has to do with length and twist. Will i be able to shoot them all with great accuracy or will the barrel like one grain over the rest?

It will depend on the accuracy you want to achieve and the range of your shots. Most guns will like a load better than some others and you may have a few that give great accuracy.

I try to find a good bullet/powder combo that will fit the bill for that gun and what I want to use it for. I don't like to have to have 1 load for this and another for that.

I would try some good bullets and powders and decide if you want it to shoot real flat or have better wind deflection if shooting long range with a higher BC bullet. Your gun will tell you what it likes best.

buckfat

Welcome to the forum and the world of reloading.

Every rifle is unique so the only way to find out what your rifle like is to try different bullets and loads. Some rifles like a variety of weights, some like certain brands of bullets and/or powders, primers etc.
Your 30-06 has a standard 1:10 twist which will handle all the weights you are interested in shooting.
Just take it one step at a time. Pick a bullet weight and style and start your load development. Once you find your load, then move on to another bullet and repeat the process.

Since your rifle likes 180 gr, that would be a great place to start.

Tell us what loading equipment and components you have and we will help you get started.

JD338

My list of components:

*RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme Single Stage Press Master Kit
*Lee Collet Neck Sizer Die 30-06 Springfield
*Redding Competition Seater Die 30-06 Springfield