It's Whelen Time

My 700 CDL isn't bad with the Limb Saver pad. You will notice a big push especially with heavier weight bullets or powder charges. Not bad just noticeable. I think recoil is something you have to learn to handle. I had been doing a lot of bench shooting with a 6BR when I started shooting the Whelen and it took little while to adjust. Anyway, I like my 35 Whelen and I approve of this message. Dan.

Hmmm. I do have a Mossberg patriot 30-06 with a walnut stock that's never really excited me, it could be a good candidate to send to Jess to rebore/chamber. Might be a good way to dip my toes into the Whelen.
Howie we're not that far apart if you'd like to shoot mine sometime. Dan.

Stock design and weight of the firing system play a major role in felt recoil. My Whelen (based on a Ruger Hawkeye) and my former Whelen (a Remington Classic) each had a Limb Saver pad. On firing, neither felt as if recoil was any more than would be experienced with a 300 WSM.
This is it on the nose. My 700 Classic produces sufficient recoil to cause my fingers to go numb after a few shots, depending on the load. It is considerably more severe than my 375 Ruger.

+1 on the twist rate. The Classic has a 1:16 twist, but I haven't seen any issues with 250 grain pills. Woodleigh did make both 275 and 310 grain pills in .358, but they may not momentarily, due to a factory fire. Details on them here: Woodleigh Bullet List and also, I have found this resource to be excellent reading on the 35 Whelen, as well as other 35 caliber options: Whelen Northwoods.

35 Whelen is amazing and will do 100% of whatever you ask of it, short of very long range shooting. Even then, it probably can do it better than I.