Making scope covers

orchemo

Handloader
Dec 13, 2006
Anyone ever made their neoprene scope covers? I need a few and through about making verse buying.

Patterns and advice helpful.

Cheers

They ones (scope covers) that we used to make, back when I was a student in college and made barely enough to eat, were razor cut, cross strips of truck tire inner tubes. You can use a straight edge to trim and make them 1/2 inch wider than your scope objective lens diameter. They stretch and the loop covers both ends of the scope.

I have some elastic Leupold end caps with an thick elastic band, held by a screw fixture, joining the two ends which stretch and work the same way to cover the objective and eye piece. I only have a couple or three of sizes for Leupold Vari XII and VX III scopes (i.e. 36mm x 40mm) but if you will send me the inside diameters of both ends of your scope bells measured in millimeters, I will give you the ones that I have, if they will fit. Let me know and I can mail them to you.

Thanks for the offer.

I have flip up Leupold covers for hunting. I was wanting something primarily to prevent safe dings

Thought some 2 mm neoprene with some elastic around the bottom. Was looking for a cut out pattern

Cheers

To avoid safe dings, I use gun socks. These have the additional advantage that should there ever be a fire, there is some additional protection against rust and extensive wood damage to the rifle.