NGD (New Gun Day)!!!

ReloadKy

Handloader
May 13, 2020
Yesterday I picked up a Browning X-Bolt composite stalker in 7-08 that is going to be my sons Christmas present and his rifle to use until he can buy his own. While I was picking it up I noticed a 6.5 creedmoor in the same model. So I walked out with both rifles. I had always wanted a Browning X bolt so I now I have one in a caliber that is allegedly really accurate and really fun to shoot. I have no experience with the 6.5 CM so it will be fun for me to learn a new rifle and caliber. I had a Vortex crossfire 2 laying around so I went ahead and mounted that on it just so I could get rolling. Couple of questions; I have researched the barrel break in procedure that Browning suggests, how important is this procedure? I really do not want to waste a lot of components. I will of course use the shots to bore sight / get on paper etc.

Second question; what are the best scope bases / rings for the X-bolt. I am not seeing a ton of options. On my x-Bolt I put leupold std rings.
Third question; what scope should I get her (Suzy the 6.5 is what she will be called, lol). It will either be a vortex or a leupold. Looking at Diamondback 4x12 or Leupold VX Freedom Firedot or Freedom CDS.

I had one X-bolt in .280 Remington that shot lights out. Like an idiot I traded it to a buddy for a Winchester model 70 in .280. That rifle was finicky and went down the road, while he still has the X-bolt. I really like the slimmer lines of the Leupold scopes and think they look good on that rifle. Given that it’s also a tool so I’d say go with your preference. Either way, they are sweet rifles. I don’t know about Brownings break in procedure but I did break mine in by firing one, cleaning, firing one, cleaning, etc…for 10 rounds then shot a few and cleaned for about 25 rounds or so. Don’t know if it helped but that rifle is accurate.