Nikon Monarch 5 or Vortex Diamond back

cloverleaf

Handloader
Sep 10, 2006
OK - Ive been avoiding (for lack of funds) buying a pair of 10x42 Vortex Diamond backs. So today when Im killing time in Cabela's the sales guy says, Theres a rebate deal that will get you the Nikons for about 20 bucks more. Now my old eyes cannot really make out a difference in the store. The Nikon usually list for about $100 more than the Vortex. Worth it ? Pros/ Cons either way? Thanks CL

It's hard to argue with vortex warranty. I have a pair of both nikon and vortex binos. I picked up an older pair of razor hd 10x42 and have been very impressed with them.

I wear glasses and the Monarch5 give me a full field of view with eye cups turned down. They are very nice glass. I have no experience with Vortex.. Good luck.

I would get the Nikon's hands down. I bought a set of Nikon Monarch ATB's in 8X40 back in 1998 and the optical quality is simply amazing. If they were not exceptional I would not still carry them after all these years. I can't see why the newer Monarch's wouldn't be as good as my old one. I do know that the higher the number, Monarch 5, Monarch 7 etc. the better the binocular and the higher the cost. Mine were made before they started doing this rating so perhaps the single model was perhaps higher quality.
Now the scopes. Well I can't really say as I've never used one.
Can't say about the Vortex either for the same reason.

Well, blew that deal. Could have saved $40 on the Vortex or $120 on the Nikon's. Pending bills and Christmas got the better of me. Rebates and deals have expired so I guess I don't have to answer that question. Blessed with a conscience I guess, but dumb as a post. Thanks for the opinions fellas. CL