Powder Scales ?

Powerstroke

Handloader
Feb 24, 2006
Good Evening -

I know this has been hashed over here and there, but looking for recomendations for powder scales ?

My Dad is getting serious about hand loading again and is in need of a set of scales. The primary function will
be for .223 100yd bench-rest shooting.
1. Repeatability
2. Ease of use are the two major pieces to this puzzel.

Thanks !

I have been using a RCBS 505 beam scale for over 30 years and I have never had a problem with it. I picked up a RCBS 10-10 last week at a gun show from a guy that was selling out an estate for $25.00. I did not really need it but for $25.00 I could not turn it down. The electric scales that some of my friends bought were just too finicky for my liking. They took too long to set up and everything bothered them. If the air condition came on they would not read correctly or florescent lights would cause problems. My friends went back to their beam scales.

Mark -
If your Dad is doing benchrest shooting, he will want precision. That means a digital scale. I have a cheapo digital scale made by Frankford Arsenol that works well for me and was less than $30 a couple years ago. I'm sure you will hear from guys that have better scales than this, but it works for my applications.

Modern digital scales work pretty well. Keep them away from fluorescent lights and other electronic equipment. If that is a problem, the 5-0-5, or even the 5-0-2 scale works very well. I can load just as accurately and as quickly with the balance beam as with the digital. Part of the reason for that is undoubtedly that my early laboratory work was all with beam balance scales. However, they are fool-proof, working very well even when the power goes off.

I used the RCBS 5-02 for along time then finally just got an RCBS 10-10 about a year ago. It was alot more than 25.00, but it is a nicer scale. Overall, the 10-10 is a really good scale. Never messed with a digital scale yet. Scotty