Reloading Help

Mud

Beginner
Nov 22, 2012
I'm concerned about high pressure and low velocity. I'm new to reloading and I feel that something may be off. My primer appear to be some what flat and are starting mushroom on the top. See the pictures below.

I have a 300 Weatherby Mark V Accumark with a muzzle break. The brass in the pictures is on its 3rd reload. I loaded:

Powder: RL 22 79 grains
Primer: Federal 215 match grade
Bullet: AccuBond 180 grain
Brass: Norma

During the case prep I did used a Redding primer pocket uniformer and flash hole de-burring tool. I noticed that when I cleaning the flash hole the Redding tool increased the diameter of the flash hole by a thousandth. Also, seated the bullet out as far as the magazine would allow AOL 3.710. I used a Hornady lock n load length gauge and the bullet is nowhere near the lands. Weatherby's have a very long throat.

When I was at the range the bolt lift was smooth with no sign of the case getting stuck. Also, when I chronograph the my load it measured 2,987 fps. Well below what my Nosler book has listed 3,100 fps. I believe my velocity should be higher.

My question is it safe to continue to work up my load or should I stop? I want to work up the load to 3,200 fps.

Any feed back would be greatly appreciated.

Larry

Attachments

• image.jpg
    311 KB · Views: 622
  • image.jpg
    176.1 KB · Views: 622