25 WSSM

buckgitter

Beginner
Jun 30, 2011
Hello all, I am going to start reloading for my 25 wssm..any info you have will be greatly appreciated. I plan on using the 110 gr accubonds.

Buckgitter,

Welcome to the forum. This should have been posted in the Reloading section, however. I suspect that many of the fellows have missed it because of being posted to "Information & Help." It looks as if the Moderators have already corrected the problem.

I haven't worked with this particular cartridge, though I have some limited experience with the 223 WSSM and the 243 WSSM. It was an interesting cartridge that seems to have failed to capture the imagination. Still, it can be a very effective cartridge for deer and caribou.

If you can get the Accubonds to shoot (I've found rifles either love them or hate them...) I suspect you'll be well served on anything I'd use a quarter bore for here in NA. It should be flat like Kansas, too. I've wanted to try out the little SS 25 for a while, but just never found the right rifle. Almost bought a Coyote Lite a couple of years ago but the shop was too proud of it, so I didn't get it. Keep us posted on how it's going.

try a max load of varget or IMR 4350, the 115 BT's also do a wonderful job on whitetails, I can't tell a difference in the exit wounds from either bullet.
RR

IIRC Hornady's Superperformance powder is a great match for that cartridge.

I have a 257 AI which has nearly an identical case capacity and it loves IMR4350.

Here is the nosler info:

http://www.nosler.com/Reloading-Data/25 ... rains.aspx

Check out the Hodgdon web site to see what they have to say in the load data section. I suspect you can get the specifics you're looking for there.

Couldnt bring myself to jump for a WSSM. Probly should have as I like the unique 25's. Just seemed to me it didnt gain enough over a 25-06 to make it worth it. Prove me wrong. My little 250 Sav likes IMR4350 and 4064. CL