180 Or 200 Grain In 30-06 Question

Leo M

Beginner
Feb 5, 2005
I would like anybodys opinion encluding Nosler's if possible. I am in the midst of working up a 180 grain Partition load for a 30-06. This is to be a moose load only. Well this weekend I got to reading an articale by John Barsness about how much he uses the 200 grain Partition in the 06 as an elk load. I have been wondering if this would be the better plan? I am no expert. What are the pros and cons with bigger bullet less speed/smaller bullet more speed. Thanks for any help.

Either bullet (30-200gr AccuBond or Partition) would work but I would say go with the 200gr Partition in your 30-06. You'll get better penetration and energy with a 200gr bullet. A 180gr Partition would work too, but heck how can you argue with a John Barsness? I hope that helps.

Pick one, lots of guys have never hunted moose and they think they are bullet proof. I know lots that have been killed with 3030, 12 gauge slugs, 243, 270 with 130's. None of those moose fell to premium bullets at all. I love partitions and whichever one shoots the best in your gun is the one I would pick.

whichever one shoots the best in your gun is the one I would pick.

Ditto. Either one will work, just figure out which one shoots the best and go with it! I liked Reloder 22 in my 30-06 with heavy bullets, gave very good velocity and accuracy. YMMV.

Leo M":2sslv7t7 said:
I would like anybodys opinion encluding Nosler's if possible. I am in the midst of working up a 180 grain Partition load for a 30-06. What are the pros and cons with bigger bullet less speed/smaller bullet more speed. Thanks for any help.

I've used the Nosler Partition in both 180 and 200 grain in my 30-06 for elk, and the 180 Partition for 2 Alaskan bull moose.

I've never recovered any of the 200 grain bullets for inspection and comparison. I've recovered a couple of the 180's.