Alliant powder

nitis

Handloader
Dec 20, 2008
Would it be at all wise as a greenhorn to maybe try to stick with one brand of powder? I can readily get alliant reloader in all forms and it covers what I need.

People say everygun is different so you have to try different things but to me correct me if I am wrong how much difference does the propeelent make on accuracy if the velocity is the same?

I was thinking I could get some reloader 17 and some 25 and really cover most of my needs.

I need to load for

270wsm
7mm mag
7mm-08
300 RUM

Also what is the deal with the new power pro ball powder?

I can't see where it would help, but it may not hurt, either. I've used just about every brand out there (including some that aren't available in this country anymore), and sometimes, I have to try stuff I've never tried before, so having other powders onhand helps. Maybe I could make do with only one brand, but then I'd have to give up either MagPro, H4831, IMR7828ssc, or RL19, and I'm not sure I'd want to give up even one of them, much less all but one of them.

You can always try to limit the number and brands, but you might find it quite a challenge.
Given the supply and demand right now and over the past several months talk to your local dealers and see what they can typically keep in stock. It seems Accurate Arms powder is tough to get, but the Hodgden and Allient powders are a little more available.
You might need to also add RL 15 and 22 to you list, based on the calibers you listed.

Good luck, most of the fun will be in trying to see if it really works for your rifles and the shooting/hunting you do.

I guess I just got excited to see so much powder available my shop had all the reloader minus 22 so I grabbed some 19 and 25 then got home and did some reading about 17

I really wanted to try some retumbo but the 17 should be fairly versatile who knows I may need to add all of them or maybe others

but back to my theory of wich is mor important to your accuracy