How important is an AO to you?

FOTIS

Range Officer
Staff member
Oct 30, 2004
Theoretical question.
You have a 300 RUM sporter and you scope it with a VX3 4.5x14x40 B&C reticule. The scope does not have an AO.
Would this really hinder your hunting?
Would this be acceptable to you and why?

I have owned several VXIII 4.5 -14 Leupold's. Some of 40 mm and some of 50mm.
Every one of them had the AO.

Aside from messing around with it, did I really use it? Did I use it hunting and really have a need for it?

No and No. I was never in a situation where I couldn't take a shot until I turned the objective. Matter of fact unless we are talking about shooting tacks at insane yardages, I can't ever see a situation where you have to spin the front lens to get a kill shot.

So for me...hunting....the AO was used as much as never.

I had the same scope, I bought from you Fotis, just couldn't get it to work out once I started shooting further on 14X. It is a good scope and if you never push past 12X you would never notice, but around 14 power, it was too blurry for me. I would rather have the LR version..

To be honest with you I never had a problem on 14 power at longer ranges. The only issue I ever had was focusing at 14 at shorter rangers

I do know that even though many of my scopes have this feature I usually set it at 200-300 yards and never mess with it in the field.

I mean this is all about parallax no?